MyBB Central

Full Version: Extreme Noob Question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am new with mybb well, been using it for 6 months now but I am new to it comapred to some other users on the forum Tongue

Anyways, I googled around looking for this but how do i update mybb? Do i just download the newest, and overwrite it with the old? Will that ruin anything on my forum? Please give me a bit of advice. I think everything is stored in SQL folders but what about images etc?? Will it also affect my content? Please give me some advice/help. Thank-you all.

&happy new years !
http://wiki.mybboard.net/index.php/Upgrading

There you go my good sir Big Grin

By the way if you upload all the files you will only overwrite the needed files. So your Plugin files and such should still be there.

If there is anything you don't understand from it. Send me a PM and i can help
Thank-you and do I have to deactivate all plugins? So 1 by 1 I must deactivate all plugins? Will it affect anything such as when I deactivate the MYPS plugin? Will it delete all the MYPS points? The process for preparing is as stated:

First, obtain MyBB.
Second, shut down your forum. Doing this means no one will interrupt the upgrade process accidentally. You can do this by going to "Admin CP > Configuration > Settings > Board Online / Offline" and changing "Board Closed" to "Yes" (you may also wish to specify why it has been closed). Alternatively, you may choose to make a .htaccess restriction on your MyBB folder so that no one can access the Front End.
Next, deactivate all Plugins.