MyBB Central
HTACCESS - Printable Version

+- MyBB Central (http://www.mybbcentral.com)
+-- Forum: Mybb Central General Discussions (http://www.mybbcentral.com/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Mybb General Support Help (http://www.mybbcentral.com/forum-6.html)
+--- Thread: HTACCESS (/thread-1773.html)

Pages: 1 2 3


HTACCESS - sadiqsaad - Oct 09, 2008

Greetings,

Labrocca hope you are fine and doing good. can you please help me with .htaccess file?


RE: HTACCESS - DAMINK - Oct 09, 2008

I would say post the question up. You may find others can help also.


RE: HTACCESS - labrocca - Oct 10, 2008

Yes please just post the question.


RE: HTACCESS - sadiqsaad - Oct 10, 2008

I need help with redirection please. My forum URL is

http://certcollection.org/forum/
or
http://certcollection.org/forum/index.php

What I want to do is when someone goes forum/index.php it should be redirected to forum/

Thx


RE: HTACCESS - sadiqsaad - Oct 10, 2008

BTW I tried this but no luck

RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ index.php/$1


RE: HTACCESS - MattR - Oct 10, 2008

You can do this in your control panel, eg CPanel.

And what's the difference between /forum/ and /forum/index.php anyways??


RE: HTACCESS - sadiqsaad - Oct 10, 2008

well difference is from SEO point of view. Last time on my old domain my index.php had a page rank and forum/ had nothing.


RE: HTACCESS - MattR - Oct 10, 2008

Because /forum/ isn't a page. When you view /forum/ you view the index, even though it doesn't say index. It loads the PHP from index.php when you just view /forum/, does it not??


RE: HTACCESS - sadiqsaad - Oct 10, 2008

Matt you are right, I don't have any problem in what you've said above. But I guess you need to read about SEO.


RE: HTACCESS - labrocca - Oct 10, 2008

I just make sure most instances of index.php are just /.

It's an easier more SEO friendly method. You can change the header template which I believe is where the only home link is anyways.

Also in global change this line:

$navbits[0]['url'] = $mybb->settings['bburl']."/index.php";

To this:

$navbits[0]['url'] = $mybb->settings['bburl']."/";

That should do it. Smile